Woman to Woman

Dear Kayla,

I know, this is strange, it caught you off guard. You were not expecting to hear from the wife of the man you’re sleeping with any time soon. After all, you’ve been careful haven’t you? You’ve been protecting my husband’s image from the children and that’s why you had to keep it on the low, right?

I bet he gave you that sad sappy story of how I changed and he feels like he doesn’t know me anymore. He told you he’s stuck in a loveless marriage with a complete stranger for the sake of the children and that he was avoiding bad publicity and court cases, right? Well, a bit of it is true, if he were to divorce, the court case would be very nasty.

Kayla, let me talk to you woman to woman instead of finding a ratchet way that will embarrass us both. I’m sure you’re a good woman, hard-working, beautiful, funny, smart. I wouldn’t expect less of Dan considering he’s been with you for months. You know how this cycle works; you get married with high expectations. They are met for a year or two before responsibilities start weighing you in. Soon, you pull in your resources and business becomes the norm of the day. Then the children come in. The little time you had to yourselves is now shuffled with diapers, maids, relatives and businesses. You forget to talk to one another and before you know it, you don’t know the person you share abed with.

I will admit that we both messed up. We got drawn in to other things we forgot who we were. I focused more on being a mum and forgot that he needed my attention too. Before I knew it, the bar became his second home and then he met you. You became his companion, his friend, his comfort. You took my role and you fell for him.

As I write this, I do not blame you. I do not blame you for falling for him. He is, after all, a charmer and the kindest soul I know. But you need to know me Kayla, know that I am a person and not just a role in his life.

I’m his wife, his partner, his friend, the mother to his children. I have been by his side for twelve years and hope to do so in the future as well. You see, I haven’t given up on Dan. He’s my husband, my family, and I will do everything in my power to make it work.

So, woman to woman, I am sorry that you got into this mess. I am sorry that I was not there for him when I needed to be. Had I been there, he would not have come to the bar that night, and you two would have never met, and you wouldn’t find yourself in this predicament your are in. I’m sorry Kayla, but Dan is mine and has always been mine. I’m sorry for the heartache and pain coming your way, but he remains mine.

So, woman to woman, I will fight for my life as I know it, and I hope you’ll be woman enough to realize that there’s more to love than just love.

Sincerely,

Dan’s Wife.

Leave a Reply

